1-2-3 plant vs. 1-2-3-4-5 plant

1-2-3 plant Lolo

1-2-3-4-5 plant Lolo

1-2-3 plant encountered in Jamaica Bay Wildlife Refuge, Queens. 1-2-3-4-5 plant encountered in Chatfield Hollow State Park, Killingworth, CT.

2 responses to “1-2-3 plant vs. 1-2-3-4-5 plant

  1. Nice photos (and nostalgic over Chatfield Hollow). The tall plants look like mullein – my friend Marty has told me about their herbal properties and I have forgotten them. The plant from Chatfield Hollow looks like Solomon’s Seal (something about the form of the root gives them their name, I think). They grow well in shade – I have a bunch in our garden. Keep enjoying your summer!

    • Thanks Judy. Mullein, yes! We read in the visitor center that it grows in the area. Also lots of cacti (the edible kind with flat paddles — nopales I think) and yucca, which I was not expecting to encounter in Queens. I’ll post some more photos soon.

leave a comment

