I wanted to start things off on a festive note

. . . so I am inviting you to a French pop video slumber party. Featuring, as all good slumber parties ultimately do, extravagantly dodgy dance moves.

RIP, Jacno.

Lots more videos after the jump:

Elli et Jacno aren’t very well known in the U.S. (one YouTube commentator speculates this is because Elli “moved like a quiche”) but you might remember a catchy electro-yé-yé song they wrote for a young Belgian girl named Lio. Here she is  in her nightie:

Before Elli et Jacno struck out on their own, they were in a Breton punk band called Stinky Toys. Elli’s singing wasn’t the greatest! They still managed to be interesting on tv, though:

Poor Claude François. He met a tragic, early end in his bathtub. Here he is avec les Claudettes:

If you want more CloClo, here is an alternate video for the same song with beaucoup plus sparkly outfits.

My favorite, favorite French singer/songwriter as of late is Jacques Dutronc (I’ve been listening to this a lot) but the videos are relatively dull, and the few good ones only seem to be available in poor quality. “Mini, mini, mini” is a great song but the video, ugh, so grainy. “Et moi, et moi, et moi” looks much better, but he’s just walking around in an empty studio. “L’opportuniste” is a good compromise, I think. It starts after this very short interview clip:

People in the U.S. tend to be more familiar with his sublime wife Françoise Hardy.

I’m not going for any sort of comprehensiveness here, but it wouldn’t feel right to have a French pop video slumber party without France Gall, particularly when the dancing in this one is so appropriate for the occasion:

I am not going to leave out Serge! It’s difficult to choose a favorite but the simplicity of this one does something for me. Clever use of a cheap set, non?

7 responses to “I wanted to start things off on a festive note

  1. no one ever did the splits (twice!) at any of the slumber parties I ever attended

    no one ever wore a pair of wicked white loafers and wailed on an unplugged guitar either

    congratulations on the new blog!

    (whoa! I just discovered the other clips…)

  2. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Many thanks

  3. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that
    would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  4. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and include approximately all significant infos.

    I’d like to see extra posts like this .

leave a comment

